Down the rabbithole

Musing Monday highlighter

Sometimes a book can grab you right from the beginning. Usually it takes more than a sentence. Sometimes it can take a paragraph. But sometimes you can be completely enthralled before the first full stop. Sometimes the first sentence is so mind-blowingly amazing that you won’t put that book down for hours. The rest of the book might be just as captivating (and isn’t it magical), or maybe it all goes downhill from there (the ultimate form of deceit).

So this post is a shrine to some wonderful first lines that I’ve read recently, either just picking them up off my shelf or as I sit down for an hour-long read.

The lines drag me into a magical world.

lips touch coverThere is a certain kind of girl the goblins crave.
Lips Touch Three Times by Laini Taylor

The first time Reginald Archer saw the thing, it was, in its simplicity, absolute.
– Story by Gahan Wilson, part of Unnatural Creatures edited by Neil Gaiman

They include me in the conversation.

beat the reaperIt’s so hard to talk when you want to kill yourself.
It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

So I’m on my way to work and I stop to watch a pigeon fight a rat in the snow, and some fuckhead tries to mug me!
Beat The Reaper by Josh Bazell

They surprise me.

my zombie dog coverIt was a slow day, so I was reading a book at my desk and seeing into the future.
Fated by Benedict Jacka

On my 14th birthday I had to bury a dog.
My Zombie Dog by Charmaine Clancy

Or sometimes confuse me.

The first word spoken by the Indian man Ajatashatru Oghash Rathod upon his arrival in France was, oddly enough, a Swedish word.
The Extraordinary Journey of the Fakir Who Got Trapped in an Ikea Wardrobe by Romain Puértolas

They might remind me of one I’ve read before.

the bone season coverThere used to be more of us.
The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda

I like to imagine there were more of us in the beginning.
– The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

They might even be drenched in tragedy.

more than this coverHere is the boy, drowning.
More Than This by Patrick Ness

But they’re the first lines that dragged me down the rabbithole before I even had a chance to kick and scream.

What first lines have captured you lately? Do you have a favourite first line? Leave me link to your own musings!

At the moment I’m at uni and I don’t have a lot of time for comments. I’ll be replying to and visiting everyone but it might take a few days 🙂


Musing Mondays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading, in which we muse about books and reading.  Anyone can join in!

2 thoughts on “Down the rabbithole

  1. Great topic! I have come across many really good first lines that have dragged me in, but for some reason I can’t remember any specifics right now. 😦 I should start a word document that keeps track of all of those first lines that blow me away, or should I say pull me in.

Please leave thoughts and comments!

