Stacking the Shelves: Library Livin’

library book haul 22-6-14

This week I went down to the library to see if they had any decent Australian YA/fantasy. Turns out it’s not so easy to search their database for Australian authors but the librarians were really helpful. They got me into some bookclub databases that mark Australian authors. It wasn’t easy, but I found a few. They also finally had some manga that was #1 in the series.

The haul:
Countdown by Michelle Rowen (Science Fiction, Post-Apocalyptic, Dystopia)
Time and Again by JiUn Yun (Manga, Anthology, Supernatural)
Dark Kiss by Michelle Rowen (YA, Paranormal, Angels, Fantasy)
Alice in the Country of Hearts #1 by QuinRose (Manga, YA, Fantasy, Humour, Romance)
Alice in the Country of Hearts #2 by QuinRose (Manga, YA, Fantasy, Humour, Romance)
Things We Didn’t See Coming by Steven Amsterdam (Australian, Science Fiction, Dystopia)
City by James Roy – reviewed this week (Australian, YA, Short Stories)
Darkfall by Isobelle Carmody (Australian, High Fantasy, Romance)

Have you read any of these books? What new books have you added to your shelves this week?


Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews to share the new books we’re adding to our shelves each week.

17 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves: Library Livin’

  1. I’ve been trying to get my hands on Isobelle Carmody’s Darkfall series for years, but I don’t think any U.S. Publishers carry it. I’m very much looking forward to your thoughts on it. Enjoy your reads:)

    • I hadn’t even heard of it but apparently it’s the pinnacle of Australian fantasy. It’s next on my list to read. You should see if any Australian booksellers like Dymocks or Bookworld ship internationally. I’ll definitely post a review if I get through it. It’s super long!

    • Alice in the Country of Hearts is hilarious! If you like manga I definitely recommend it. I posted a teaser on Tuesday if you want to check out the artwork and see a snippet of the humor. I’ve started the second one and it just gets funnier and more and more adorable. I love it!

    • The Alice mangas are amazing. I haven’t read Time and Again yet, but it sounds cool. It’s written left-to-right like a Western book, so every time I’ve opened it I’ve gotten confused. Somehow I’ve trained my brain to read word books and manga differently 🙂

  2. I am not familiar with any of the books but I would love to read the Alice manga’s. They sound like cute reads :). I also really enjoy reading dystopian so Countdown has been added to my wishlist. Happy reading!

Please leave thoughts and comments!

