Book Haul: Lifeline Bookfest

bookfest 2014 bookhaul

On Saturday my friend and I went to the Lifeline Bookfest! It’s a charity book sale held in two halls of the Convention Centre, with millions of books at either $1 or $2.50, plus a section of slightly higher priced high quality books. We hauled home my 19 books, plus my friend’s similar number on a bus. Going on public transport was a poor decision on our part. Our fingers, arms and shoulders were incredibly sore by the time we made it home, but it was completely worth it!

As Ron Weasley’s prophecy states, “You’re gonna suffer… but you’re gonna be happy about it.”

Now I just have to find a space on my shelves for all these gems…

What books have you bought this week? What are your favourite charity sales?

4 thoughts on “Book Haul: Lifeline Bookfest

  1. My first year living in an apartment, neither my roommate nor I had a car, so we had to take the bus to go shopping… but every time, we seemed to forget how much it sucked to haul everything back. We’d load up, thinking that meant we didn’t have to go as often… but then we’d be walking back from the bus stop with five grocery bags on each arm. It was terrible.

    • That sounds terrible! I’ve also lived in an apartment without a car, but the supermarket was just downstairs so it wasn’t an issue. I could go as often as I liked. You should have taken a suitcase to carry it or something. I saw lots of people doing that at the book fest. It’s a great idea.

Please leave thoughts and comments!

