Read-a-thon Wrap-Up

Bout of Books

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is finished! Here’s my wrap-up of the week:

Books finished:
1. Paraphernalia: The Curious Lives of Magical Things by Steven Connor
2. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
3. The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda

Paraphernalia the hunt cover in the shadows cover

Total pages read: 1120

My goals (some I added later throughout the week):
1. Read 3 books (done!)
2. Read at least 100 pages per day (done!)
3. Keep up with housework (mostly done)
4. Work out daily (incomplete)

I reached all of my reading goals! The other goals slid a little, but more because I got cold than because I was reading the whole time (working out with a cold is just not fun). I’m so glad I got that much reading done! This week reminded me how much I enjoy reading. I tend to find reading is one of those things I put off for no reason. I enjoy it! Why would I procrastinate doing it? It’s an odd thing to do, but I know I’m not alone. Over 15000 people on tumblr liked/reblogged this post:

procrastinating reading tumblr

Challenges

I completed the first day’s challenge but no others. I wanted to, but because I’m in Australia, by the time they’re posted I was already onto the next day and it became to difficult to figure out which day is which. For the same reason, my daily updates usually didn’t make it to the link-up.

But next time I’ll approach it differently. Maybe I’ll post my updates a day late. If anyone else had the same problem, let me know how you coped!

Leave me links to your recap posts! Did you reach your goals this read-a-thon? Are you also a reading procrastinator? Let me know your favourite book that you read this week!

11 thoughts on “Read-a-thon Wrap-Up

  1. Hmm, I never thought about how confusing it must be for those of you on the other side of the world. So, when you wake up on Day Three, we’re in the middle of Day Two, and the link up is for Day One. At least, I think that’s how it goes.

    • Yes, that’s exactly right! And even if I do the updates just before I go to bed, I can’t count on the link ups or the challenges being up yet. I think I might just have to delay the publishing of my updates to match everyone else’s. Or completely adjust my sleeping schedule 🙂

    • Thanks! This challenge was great at getting me started reading. Once I’ve started I can read for hours, but sometimes I just keep putting it off. I don’t understand how I can not want to do something I want to do! Our brains are such odd things. I’m glad you got more focus this week. Maybe we can try to learn from it 🙂

Please leave thoughts and comments!

