Read-a-thon Day 1

Bout of Books

The Bout of Books read-a-thon started today!

I’m going to start reading Paraphernalia: The Curious Lives of Magical Things by Steven Connor!

ParaphernaliaIn this highly imaginative exploration of our relationship with everyday things, Steven Connor looks at those items which, though mundane, have a magical quality—the things which have an often surprising power to absorb, disturb, seduce, and soothe.

With chapters on everything from keys to handkerchiefs, and sweets to spectacles, Connor embarks upon a historical, philosophical, and linguistic journey to reconnect with the curious and quirky things with which we have a forgotten intimacy.

– From Goodreads

It should be a quick read to get me in the magical mood before starting on my fiction books. Remember, I’m trying to read 3 books by the end of Sunday. Time to get started!

What’s your first book this read-a-thon? Leave me a link if you’re participating or if not, tell me what you’re currently reading!

5 thoughts on “Read-a-thon Day 1

  1. That books sounds VERY interesting! *adding it to my book wishlist*

    I’m currently moving between The Night Circus and Insurgent, but from the looks of it I might stick with Insurgent for the rest of the day! 🙂

Please leave thoughts and comments!

