Teaser Tuesday: Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy

Teaser Tuesday no chevron

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be ReadingIt’s simple: turn to a random page of a book you’re currently reading and post two(ish) ‘teaser’ sentences.

The book I’m reading this week isn’t teaser-worthy (it’s non-fiction), so I thought I’d share my favourite part of Daughter of Smoke and Bone (the first book in Laini Taylor’s trilogy which I will not stop raving about):

once upon a time an angel and devil fell in loveThese “once upon a time” quotes pop up occasionally through the books, and they add to the magic.  Every time the quotes appeared I would pause, and think. Think about how wonderful the story is, or how incredible the world is, or how beautiful the writing is. And finish with a little internal squeal.

My very favourite one isn’t inside the book at all, it’s the blurb in the back of Days of Blood and Starlight:

“Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love and dared to imagine a new way of living—one without massacres and torn throats and bonfires of the fallen, without revenants or bastard armies or children ripped from their mothers’ arms to take their turn in the killing and dying.

Once, the lovers lay entwined in the moon’s secret temple and dreamed of a world that was a like a jewel-box without a jewel—a paradise waiting for them to find it and fill it with their happiness.

This was not that world.”

If I could choose only one thing to read for the rest of my life it would be that blurb.

What are your teasers this week?

 

6 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy

  1. I agree, those little ‘quotes’ throughout the book are great. I also loved the first book but was unsure about the second. I have reserved the third from the library though so I’m certainly enjoying the series.

Please leave thoughts and comments!

