Book Blogger Confessions

book blogger confessions

I was tagged (in a non-specific way) by Spines and Covers to complete this. And I will continue the tradition: if you want to answer these questions, consider yourself tagged and leave me a link in the comments.

Which book, most recently, did you not finish?

Monster Hunter International by Larry Correia.  It was just too manly for me – all big guns and even bigger egos. I just couldn’t bring myself to care.

city of bones coverWhat book is your guilty pleasure?

It would have to be The Mortal Instruments series. Those YA fantasy love triangles infuriate me but I just keep reading these books anyway.

Which book do you love to hate?

Pride and Prejudice. I think the furthest I’ve ever read is 4 chapters and literally nothing happens.  I do not understand the widespread obsession with this book.

Which book would you throw into the sea?

The Old Man and The Sea by Ernest Hemingway. It’s not that I didn’t love reading it, because I did and it’s wonderfully written. But that has to be the most depressing life metaphor I’ve ever read. The bottom of the sea is where that book belongs.

Which book have you read the most?

Definitely Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone. I would have read it 10 times easily, probably much more. Or actually it could also be one of many children’s books. I loved Polly Polar Bear way past my child years (and I still do).

Which book would you hate to receive as a present?

Pride and Prejudice. Also Wuthering Heights.

Which book could you not live without?

The whole Harry Potter series. Don’t you dare take them away from me. I won’t even lend them.

Which book made you the angriest?

Cell by Stephen King. When I finished it, I actually threw it across the room and screamed “No!”.

Which book made you cry the most?

A book I read (over and over) as a kid called With You and Without You, about a girl who’s father dies. Not once did I read that book without can’t-see-the-pages-in-front-of-me tears.

Fated both coversWhich book cover do you hate the most?

I hate the US covers for the Alex Verus novels (The UK cover for Fated on the left, and US on the right).  I accidentally bought the US cover for the latest, and I’m waiting to find a UK cover so I can replace it.

 

7 thoughts on “Book Blogger Confessions

  1. Alise (Readers in Wonderland) says:

    ” 4 chapters and literally nothing happens.” Pretty much! I tried to read it multiple times as well. Love the movies though! I would totally throw Member of the Wedding into the sea, I *really* disliked that book. So much. My guilty pleasure read is definitely the Mortal Instruments series too 🙂

Please leave thoughts and comments!

