Wordy Wednesday

663px-A_picture_is_worth_a_thousand_words

Words are amazing.  We string letters together to make words, and weave words to create the beautiful, funny and heart-stopping stories we all love.  I might be an avid reader, a word-lover and a writer, but I actually have quite a small vocabulary.  So I’ve decided that every week I’ll document the new words I’ve discovered (or re-discovered) in the hopes of expanding my vernacular.  Anyone is free to follow suit! Let’s learn new words!

I just thought of this, so it’s only one word this week:

Mollify (verb) – appease or soften a person’s temper.

I’ve come across this word many times, but never bothered to look it up.  I always assumed its definition from the context – but I had assumed the exact opposite! I always thought when someone was mollified their temper increased.  That’s just the way the word sounds in my head.  I guess that’s why we should never assume.

What new words did you discover this week?

2 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday

Please leave thoughts and comments!

