Reading Habits Tag

monster-reading-a-book
The wonderful Spines & Covers tagged me for this. Get to know me and my reading habits a bit better.
Question #1: Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
Usually I read in my bed at night, but since I’ve taken this semester off I’ve had a lot more time during the day to read.  Pair that with two new baby chicks, and you can pretty much always find me reading outside with the chicks on my lap.
Question #2: Bookmark or a random piece of paper?
I love bookmarks, but usually I end up using receipts or random paper.  If I know I’m reviewing book, I make remarks on my bookmark to remember for the review.  So random scraps of paper can be really useful.
Question #3: Can you stop reading anytime you want or do you have to stop at a certain page, chapter, part, ect.?
I hate stopping partway through a chapter.  Sometimes I’ll stop at a big gap (Suddenly I realise I don’t know the name of those extra big gaps between two paragraphs) but usually always the end of a chapter.
Question #4: Do you eat or drink while reading?
During the day I’ll usually have some tea next me (getting cold if it’s a really great book)
Question #5: Can you read while listening to music/watching TV?
No, I have to choose one.
Question #6: One book at a time, or several at once?
I usually have one fiction novel going, plus something easily read in small bits, like a collection of stories or a non-fiction book.
Question #7: Reading at home or everywhere?
I usually read at home, but I also read on buses and when I’m at uni it’s a great way to fill in an hour.
Question #8: Reading out loud or silently in your head?
Silently in my head.
Question #9: Do you read ahead or skip pages?
I only skip forward to check how far away a gap/chapter end is.  I try to never look for spoilers.
Question #10: Breaking the spine or keeping it new?
I like my books looking new.  There’s something about harming a book that makes me feel like I’ve bruised my soul.
Question #11: Do you write in books?
No, but I love books that have been written in. Plus no one else usually reads my books to see any notes I could write. Maybe in a library book (Shh… don’t tell the librarians it was me).
Please leave thoughts and comments!

